2009 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Jim E. Kirk, School of Communication
Jim E. Kirk is a retired broadcaster and owner of WMOP Radio, Inc. in Ocala, where he is known as “Country Jim.” He received his B. S. from The Florida State University in 1952. His degree in speech, with an emphasis in broadcasting, was the first of its kind granted by the university. Kirk served as mayor of Ocala for three terms. He is a lifetime member of the FSU Alumni Association and a former chairman of the board of Seminole Boosters. He also endowed a professorship, the Jim E. Kirk Professor of Communication, which is currently held by Dr. Barry Sapolsky.

Carole Jo Hardiman, School of Communication Science & Disorders
Carole Jo Hardiman served 35 years as a faculty member for the Department of Communication Disorders before retiring in 2004. Hardiman earned both undergraduate and graduate degrees at FSU, and after employment in the public schools and at the Easter Seal Rehabilitation Center in Tallahassee, she began working as a master clinician in the newly established Regional Rehabilitation Center. Hardiman is Fellow of the American Speech Language Hearing Association and a past president of the Florida Language, Speech and Hearing Association.

Tom W. Sloan, School of Library & Information Studies
Tom W. Sloan is the executive director of the DuPage Library System, a regional library system consisting of more than 130 members in over 300 libraries in the greater Chicago area. Sloan received his bachelor of science in education from the University of Tennessee before attending The Florida State University, where he earned a master’s in library science. Sloan has held many offices in state and national professional library associations, such as the American Library Association.